Skip to main content

Legislation related to local government

The following Acts, together with Section 64A, Part 2A of the Constitution Act 1934, establish the framework, system and operation of local governing bodies and local government-related statutory authorities:

Local Government Act 1934
Local Government Act 1999
Local Government (Elections) Act 1999
Local Government (Implementation) Act 1999
Outback Communities (Administration and Management) Act 2009
South Australian Local Government Grants Commission Act 1992

These Acts and associated regulations can be accessed via the South Australian Legislation website.

The Acts are 'committed to' (are the responsibility of) the Minister for Local Government. However, the ministerial functions and powers related to local government land use set out in Chapter 11 of the Local Government Act 1999 are conferred on the Minister for Planning.


Codes of Conduct

Code of Conduct for Council Members (PDF 206.0 KB)

Code of Conduct for Council Employees (PDF 1.2 MB)