Skip to main content

Stations Upgrade Program

Station Upgrade Program

DIT's Station Upgrade Program upgraded selected stations along metropolitan passenger rail lines as part of the Rail Revitalisation Program, to provide safer and more efficient services for train customers.  Upgraded stations include Elizabeth, Elizabeth South, Chidda, Evanston, Parafield, Munno Para, Gawler, Hallet Cove and Hallet Cove Beach railway stations.

Improved facilities for commuters include new shelters, improved lighting, platform furniture, additional cover, improved access, pedestrian crossings, bike enclosures, additional CCTV camera, new access paths and ramps along with new car parking facilities.  All improvements focus on accessibility in line with the DDA (Disability Discrimination Act) for public transport services.

Project time frame

July 2011 - March 2014

Project cost

Part of the State Government's $2 billion investment into public transport announced in 2008.